An Open Letter to Californians from Democratic Members of CA Assembly

South San Francisco, CA   January 20, 2017  from Democratic Members of CA Assembly

Today marks the inauguration of a new president and we, as legislators in California, pause briefly to witness the event. While our goals differ from the incoming administration, we will waste no time in lament because we are intent upon our work for California.

Less than 20 miles from the State Capitol, the American Bald Eagle has been spotted in the wild. Its comeback from endangered status is symbolic, not only of California’s commitment to the environment, but symbolic, too, of our commitment to continue the struggle against injustice. That’s a struggle that began with the founding of the country that eagle represents.

We will continue to honor our commitments to the people of California. The California contract is a promise to ourselves and to one another that we will build a sustainable economy, environment and society that doesn’t just protect the wealthy or the powerful, but instead will benefit every Californian and benefit from every Californian.

To do that, we have to cement the gains we have made and build on their foundation. Our list of gains and goals is long, precisely because it is of, by and for all the people. We will stand by what we have achieved, and we will stand for further progress where it is needed, on every one of these issues:

  • Safe and efficient transportation to move people and the goods they need.
  • Affordable housing, available near to where people work.
  • Fair and adequate funding for quality public education, to allow every child to thrive and contribute to our state.
  • A vibrant economy providing jobs that are fairly compensated and safe, with the right to organize.
  • Clean air in every neighborhood, clean water to drink, clean power for our needs, and a clean environment in which to live.
  • Equal protection at the ballot box, in employment, in access to public facilities, in housing, and in our most personal relationships and identities.
  • A system of justice that protects the public in all communities, without abuses to any.
  • Welcoming all Californians, whether they are born here or have come as refugees and immigrants.
  • Healthful food and quality health care – including reproductive health care – that is affordable and accessible to all.
  • Protection of retirement security.
  • Freedom of information.

We join together on these issues today, knowing that we have much to achieve, but knowing that our chances of success are bolstered by the scope of what we are working for. Each piece is essential to a complete California dream. Our unity becomes our strength when each individual and each group commits to supporting these goals.

Our commitment to this social contract is what makes our state a leader. California is more than a great place to live; it is a great source of innovation and an unrivaled economic engine. And so, for the next four years and beyond, we will work to be a light to the nation.


Jim Wood
District 02

Cecilia Aguiar-Curry
District 04

Kevin McCarty
District 07

Ken Cooley
District 08

Jim Cooper
District 09

Marc Levine
District 10

Susan Eggman
District 13

Timothy S. Grayson
District 14

Tony Thurmond
District 15

David Chiu
District 17

Rob Bonta
District 18

Phil Ting
District 19

Bill Quirk
District 20

Kevin Mullin
District 22

Marc Berman
District 24

Kansen Chu
District 25

Ash Kalra
District 27

Evan Low
District 28

Mark Stone
District 29

Anna M. Caballero
District 30

Dr. Joaquin Arambula
District 31

Monique Limón
District 37

Raul Bocanegra
District 39

Chris Holden
District 41

Laura Friedman
District 43

Jacqui Irwin
District 44

Matthew Dababneh
District 45

Adrin Nazarian
District 46

Eloise Gómez Reyes
District 47

Blanca E. Rubio
District 48

Ed Chau
District 49

Richard Bloom
District 50

Jimmy Gomez
District 51

Freddie Rodriguez
District 52

Miguel Santiago
District 53

Sebastian Ridley-Thomas
District 54

Eduardo Garcia
District 56

Ian C. Calderon
District 57

Cristina Garcia
District 58

Reggie Jones-Sawyer
District 59

Sabrina Cervantes
District 60

Jose Medina
District 61

Autumn Burke
District 62

Speaker Anthony
District 63

Mike A. Gipson
District 64

Al Muratsuchi
District 66

Patrick O’Donnell
District 70

Todd Gloria
District 78

Shirley Weber
District 79

Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher
District 80

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.