San Mateo County Harbor District moves to Districted Elections

South San Francisco, CA   July 27, 2018 Press Release

The San Mateo County Harbor District recently adopted a resolution to move from ‘at large’ to ‘districted’ elections. Since its formation in 1933 (with a brief hiatus in the 60s), the District’s five Commissioners have been determined in alternating elections and voted on by the county at large. With the resolution adopted in June, the District has embarked on the process of establishing districts from which Commissioners will be elected by voters within that District only.

The process begins with an initial series of three public meetings, held in various parts of the county to ensure the greatest opportunity for public participation, the first two of which have occurred in the District office and Redwood City.

Public participation is encouraged at the next meeting of this primary phase which will be:

  • Monday, July 30, 6:30p.m., Municipal Services Building (Betty Weber Room), 33 Arroyo Dr., South San Francisco.

Following this meeting, there will be discussion at the next Harbor Commission meeting, on August 15, 6:30p.m. at the District office, 504 Ave. Alhambra, El Granada.

This will be followed by opportunities for the public to review and comment on maps during another series of meetings before a final decision is made by the Commission in September.

More information is available at the District’s website, which will be continuously updated:

About the San Mateo County Harbor District:


The San Mateo County Harbor District was first established in 1933 and now operates both Pillar Point Harbor and Oyster Point Marina/Park. Pillar Point Harbor, near Half Moon Bay, remains a major commercial and sport fishing harbor with 369 berths. It is host to many public events throughout the year. Oyster Point Marina/Park in the City of South San Francisco provides a 408-berth marina, boat launch ramp, fishing pier, and open space and trails. At both facilities, the District manages the property, renders public safety and search and rescue functions, and provides opportunities for many kinds of recreational activities.


The District is governed by a five-member Board of Harbor Commissioners, who are currently elected county-wide for staggered four-year terms.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments