Ponderosa Elementary School Receives 2019 Kent Award

South San Francisco, CA   April 17, 2019 Submitted by SSFUSD

Ponderosa Elementary’s 5th Grade Peer Tutors program was recently selected to receive a Kent Award at the 2019 Kent Awards Ceremony!

The San Mateo County School Boards Association (SMCSBA) announced the 2019 recipients of the J. Russell Kent Awards. San Mateo County School Boards Association represents the governing boards of the County’s 23 local school districts, the Community College District, and the San Mateo County Office of Education.

Named after former San Mateo County Superintendent of Schools J. Russell Kent, the awards were initiated in 1981 to recognize outstanding and innovative programs throughout the county. Applicants must demonstrate that their programs have clear and intentional goals, promote student success, employ a high degree of creativity, and demonstrate transferability.

A big shout out to Principal Erskine, and to all the Ponderosa, staff, students and families!


About the Kent Awards:

The San Mateo County School Boards Association is pleased to be able to acknowledge and publicize the outstanding teachers and programs in San Mateo County through the J. Russell Kent Awards program. We encourage school board members and district staff to visit these programs in other districts. We believe they will come away, not only convinced of the high quality of the programs , but as enthusiastic about our school districts and staff throughout the county as we have been.

SMCSBA initiated the J. Russell Kent Award Program in the 1980-81 school year. Named after past San Mateo County Superintendent of Schools, J. Russell Kent, the awards are given to innovative and replicable programs that are being implemented in a school district, county office of education, or in the community college district in the County.

The Kent Awards process begins in the fall when districts submit applications for consideration. The applications are screened and evaluated by the Screening Committee using rubrics adopted by the Rubric Review Committee. The programs that successfully pass the screening are then visited by the Visitation Committee to verify the findings of the screening Committee. Award winners are recognized annually in May at the Kent Awards Banquet.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments