Kaiser Permanente San Francisco and South San Francisco Hospitals Receive Top Marks for Patient Safety

South San Francisco, CA  November 16, 2021 Submitted by Matt Skryja, Kaiser Permanente

The Leapfrog Group’s biannual safety report gives Kaiser Permanente hospitals top scores for limiting patient injuries, reducing medical errors, and preventing infections


The Leapfrog Group recognized Kaiser Permanente San Francisco and Kaiser Permanente South San Francisco hospitals each with a top score of “A” in its biannual Hospital Safety Grades report, which examined and graded nearly 3,000 hospitals throughout the United States.


Kaiser Permanente hospitals in Northern California with “A” scores include: Antioch, Fresno, Manteca, Modesto, Redwood City, Richmond, Roseville, San Francisco, San Jose, San Rafael, Santa Clara, Santa Rosa, South San Francisco, Vacaville, and Vallejo. Additionally, Kaiser Permanente hospitals in Fremont, Oakland, Sacramento, and Walnut Creek received “B” scores.


Kaiser Permanente Northern California hospitals continue to be consistently recognized as among the country’s best for outstanding patient safety, positive outcomes, and patient experience.


“We are proud of this national recognition as it reflects our strong commitment to providing excellent patient care,” said Ron Groepper, senior VP and area manager, Kaiser Permanente Greater San Francisco Area. “The Leapfrog hospital safety score is truly the gold standard in safe patient care, and we are honored to once again be given this award. It reflects our leadership, collaboration, and desire to deliver exceptional, high-quality care.”


More about the Leapfrog Safety Grades

The Leapfrog Group, an independent national nonprofit run by employers and other large purchasers of health benefits, released its Hospital Safety Grades after examining publicly available data on patient injuries, medical and medication errors and infections at U.S. hospitals. The report includes data collected by national health care organizations, including the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Scores are calculated based on more than 30 publicly available measures, and hospitals are then assigned A, B, C, D or F grades for their safety records. The grades are released as a free resource to help patients and their families make informed health care decisions.


“We are pleased to see that Kaiser Permanente San Francisco is once again being recognized for the exceptional care that we provide our patients,” said Maria Ansari, MD, physician in chief, Kaiser Permanente San Francisco. “Thanks to our care teams’ commitment to the health and well-being of our members, our hospitals are among the very best in the nation. It is a shared responsibility between our highly skilled physicians, nurses, and care teams.”


“We put our patients and their care first, and the Leapfrog ‘A’ grade exemplifies the high-quality health care provided by our physicians, nurses and staff,” said John Skerry, MD, physician in chief, Kaiser Permanente South San Francisco. “We passionately work to keep our patients safe, so being recognized as one of the best in the nation is a wonderful credit to our physicians, providers, and staff, particularly in these challenging times.”

For more information and a complete list of the hospital safety grades, visit Leapfrog.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments