Congresswoman Speier, Caucus Co-Chairs Introduce Resolution Declaring July 30 National Whistleblower Appreciation Day

South San Francisco, CA   July 2, 2018 Press Release
WASHINGTON, DC – Congresswoman Jackie Speier (CA-14), joined by the co-chairs of the bipartisan House Whistleblower Protection Caucus, on Thursday introduced a resolution declaring July 30, 2018 as National Whistleblower Appreciation Day. Caucus co-chairs include Reps. Rod Blum (IA-1), Mike Coffman (CO-6), Elijah Cummings (MD-7), and Kathleen Rice (NY-4).


The resolution draws attention to the history of whistleblowers in America, which date back to the Continental Congress, and the importance of whistleblowing then and today. July 30, 2018 is the 240th anniversary of the first whistleblower legislation introduced by the Continental Congress.  That law, enacted on July 30, 1778, encouraged all government employees and citizens to provide information on “misconduct, frauds or misdemeanors.” 


“It is a privilege to sponsor this resolution with my Caucus colleagues to recognize the importance of whistleblowers,” Rep. Speier said. “It’s amazing to read about the prominent role whistleblowers played for our young military and Continental Congress. Whistleblowing was crucial in the early days of the United States to prevent waste, fraud, and abuse, and remains just as important today.”


“I am very pleased to cosponsor this Resolution designating National Whistleblower Appreciation Day. It is a strong expression of appreciation for the tremendous sacrifices made by the men and women who blow the whistle on waste, fraud, and abuse. They offer vital assistance to our work on the Oversight Committee, the primary investigative Committee of the House of Representatives, on behalf of the American people,” Rep. Elijah Cummings said.



0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments